Co-funded by the European Union

Ministry of the Interior – Departmen of the Public Security

The Ministry of the Interior is a government agency of Italy headquartered in Rome. It is responsible for internal security, the protection of the constitutional order, civil protection against disasters and terrorism, as well as displaced persons and administrative issues. It is made up of 5
departments: public security, immigration and civil liberties, internal affairs, firefighters, public rescue and civil defence and civil personnel administration.
In the Italian Public Security system the Minister of the Interior is the Public Security National Authority and he is responsible for public order and security maintenance. In the carrying out of his/her function of public order and security high direction and co-ordination of police forces’ tasks and activities, the Minister is supported, at central level, by the Public Security Department and, at local level, by provincial and local authorities.